Backpacking but more

Backpacking has been such a huge part of my life since I could walk it’s almost impossible for most people to understand.  Disappearing for 3 weeks at a time with no electronics, no communication, nothing but what you can carry on your back, most people only dream of that kind of freedom. I live it. There was a time when I was scared to death that I was going to lose my sister when we were backpacking. I was about fifteen and we were crossing a river that was much fuller and rushing much harder then it ever had been before. We had traveled this lush, green tail many times before but it had felt different the entire trip. The trail and the tripped seemed to be telling us to turn back.  As we started to cross the river,  I saw her pole slip in the water behind me and I heard the chilling scream, and the sound of her bone snapping. The thud as she hit the water. Then it went quite. I finished crossing. I dropped my pack and helped my littlest sister finish crossing.  I began to asses the situation. I realized that my dad and older sister were not going to be able to move. There was no way of carrying her out between the three of us. Then came the terrifying  moment of realization it was 20 miles out was the nearest Ranger Station, and I was going to have to hike with my little sister alone, no adults to watch me or sit with my sister as my Dad hiked with her.  I knew what I had to do. After talking with my dad and knowing hiking alone was not a wise decision my youngest sister and I started out with water and food. We carried as little as possible. We wanted to be quick darkness was going to be our biggest fear the entire day. We pushed on and on. Fighting the heat, exhaustion and obstacles of the trail. Watching carefully and making sure no mistakes were made. Erin, my older sister was in pain and error now could mean the loss of her limb and possibly even worse. I could feel the wind start to change as the sun continued to sink lower in the sky. We had to pick up the pace or we would never make it back before sun down and I couldn’t leave then there all night. I could see Mackenzie begin to fatigue past the point she was used to; she had never hiked this much in one day. I looked at my watch. One five-minute break. A snack. Water. I could spare that time if it meant I could get her moving again. We stopped on a set of rocks in a nice clearing of the trees. The rocks were large and warm. We began to hydrate and refuel our bodies. I looked at the map and saw that we had covered about seventy-five percent of the distance to the ranger station. I was happy. I knew sundown was at 6:37 that day and it would probably take and hour to get the rescue helicopter up there and get her lifted out. It would take us about another 2.5 hours at the pace we had been keeping, even with the fatigue. I also knew finally had looked at my watch. 2:09 pm. A flood a relief. We were gonna make it. As long as Erin was making it okay with Dad. While this may not seem to be an appropriate story here, it is often like the ones we face every day. We make decision every day that change our lives and the lives of others. These can be as little as a line on a Facebook, blog, or a twitter account. One of the social issues that I have become most concerned with is the lack of Patriotism and lack of support for our troops. It this job is not one that is easy and while they may chose to do it, they do not chose what wars to fight. We should be supporting our troops as a unit in all cases, even if we don’t agree with what they are fighting for. Congress is the people to blame for war, not the troops. Our troops are feeling very neglected and when they come home very aliented from the people they just risked their lives for. Without our troops bravery, we might not have the option to post those things on our blogs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

So what are your thoughts?

